About ASEM

The Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM) is an intergovernmental process established in 1996 to foster dialogue and cooperation between Asia and Europe. Presently it comprises 53 partners: 30 European and 21 Asian countries, the European Union and the ASEAN Secretariat. ASEM addresses political, economic, social, cultural, and educational issues of common interest, in a spirit of mutual respect and equal partnership. Since its inception in 1996, the Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM) has continuously adjusted itself to ensure relevance and growth of the partnership between the partners amidst the global and regional changes. ASEM collaboration have been guided by 3 areas of common interest: political, economic, and socio-cultural and educational dimensions, referred to as the ASEM Three Pillars. Within the third pillar, ASEM Education Ministers meet regularly to advance trans-regional educational collaboration.

More information on ASEM can be found here.